WRITERS READING: JAN BEATTY

Delicious

I’m looking for clothes to put my body in. At the family gathering, my sisters-in-law wear sundresses & strappy sandals, which are lovely, & it’s sunny out, but the Kenneth Cole men’s shirt I got on sale seems out of place, like the way I need to wear a lot of metal that can double as weapons if needed & ever since I cut off all my hair years ago to avoid being mistaken for a woman who wants a man in Dockers, I search websites for men’s shoes & shirts to fit, stores for men with elegant small feet, who I imagine to be my cosmic brothers, then one sister-in-law talks about the new baby, the new baby, so I switch to the men’s talk about the new Camaro, the new Camaro, & the NFL’s jacked-up penalties on hitting, but always swing back to the women, who have a watery wayabout them I love, who are talking about the zesty seasoning for the bean salad, which is, in fact, delicious. 

The Switching/Yard, University of Pittsburgh Press

###

photoJan Beatty is the author of four poetry collections published by the University of Pittsburgh Press. The Switching/Yard, Red Sugar, Boneshaker, and Mad River, winner of the 1994 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. She cohosts and produces Prosody, a public radio show on NPR affiliate WESA-FM featuring the work of national writers. Beatty worked as a welfare caseworker, an abortion counselor, in maximum security prisons, and as a waitress for fifteen years. She directs the creative writing program at Carlow University, where she runs the Madwomen in the Attic Writing Workshops and teaches in the MFA program.

More from Jan Beatty: